Fraudulent Paypal email
Posted 31 August 2007, 09:16. (Filed under: Geek by Andrew)
I just received an email from PayPal that looks genuine. It warns me of unusual account activity, and asks that I update my records to restore full functionality to my account. The email address it comes from looks genuine, the logo and the link to the privacy policy are genuine. Only the link to update my details isn’t right. It directs me to http://www.paypal-team.com/eg which is a site that asks me to put in all sorts of personal details.
How did I know this? How did I catch this? Am I super-clever? No. I just never visit PayPal by clicking on a link in an email. I always type the web address into the browser. If I type www.paypal.com into the address bar myself, then I’m not getting conned.
I little more investigation showed this article indicating that it’s a fraudulent site. Also, if I visit the site using a recent version of Firefox, the browser warns me that the website is a forgery, designed to steal my identity.
I logged into PayPal – myself: no link-clicking – and all is fine. My account is unaffected.
* * *
< Holywood-style policing causes computer evidence blunder |
| Roundup issue tracker page redirects badly >